365 Reference Points

It was a couple of days before 1st of January 2010. A colleague of mine has pointed me towards the fact, that for her, a new year is a useless reference point.

I spent the rest of my day mixing my flow of  thoughts with that statement. Nor that I would spend the entire year waiting for that single 1 day to get me to a new start, however, I always used the 1st of January to make some plans, redefine some attitudes, recall what is done.

It wasn’t different this year! I have layed down on a paper some random thoughts and started the 2010 with that in mind. Even started a personal blog as you can see.

I got sick afterwards, and have spent a week in a bad state of body and soul. By the way, more on that 🙂 On the 3rd day of my sickness, after a night spent with +40C I have called the doctor. She came quite unwillingly because of the outside snow. She was not in the mood, so she has listened to my breath and heartbeat at entry of my apartment (did not even want to come in). Telling me that I have to consume “Tamiflu” because, this is what everyone does this days, she left.

Well, long story short, without tests, with no real evidence (I am still 99% sure it was a simple flu) she wrote in my sick leave paper that I have had the pandemic flu 🙂 so guys, that is how statistics are made this days… I didn’t complain though, as I really don’t care.

Anyway, the post was not about the above, rather that, I woke up on the 23rd of January with a different feeling. My son is 1-year-old. 365 reference days have passed, and, for the first time in my life, I felt that the new beginning has a new taste. This 1 day is worth 100 New Year days. This is when you really get the feeling of accomplishments, of failures and hopes. This is the day I have realised that time is flying rather fast, and probably for the first time I have felt that the time has started running against me.

So, here I am, looking at 365 new reference points of mine, with each of those awaking some old memories. Here is my 1-year-old son, walking by himself around the house, and here is “The Time” running, with a bitter ticking sound, against me, in a new race I have not been a part of before.

Hoho… now that I suppose is a new part of life…

Leave a Reply

